Reviews

This is the place you were looking for

5/5Stayed Jun 2019Kegan M.

My wife and I travel quite a bit – 10 countries over the last 18 months. We like to stay in homeshares when possible, and have met some wonderful and colorful locals this way. Dorothy and Bill, and what they have created at Hidden Springs, has made a lasting impression on our hearts . The pictures and reviews you see, while beautiful and kindly worded, cannot do this haven and its hosts justice. Long before pulling onto the property, you know you are someplace special – the verdant backcountry roads of the Comox Valley roll with warmth and an invigorating sense of adventure. Entering the grounds of Hidden Springs, you are immediately greeted by a rush of fresh air and at once the rising chorus of the forest and its animals, and a quiet and secluded zen. We stayed for nearly a week but could just as easily have stayed for the month. The Carriage House has any and all matter of needed amenities, and Dorothy and Bill were graciously available for anything that came up (including sharing a glass of wine over lovely conversation). Do yourself and your loved ones a favor – unplug from whatever ailes you during your day-to-day, and make time to visit Hidden Springs. If you’re anything like us, you will be glad you did – and eagerly awaiting a return visit. Thank you so much Dorothy and Bill!

Beautiful!!!

5/5Stayed May 2019Meghan G.

This is truly an escape from the hustle and bustle of today’s world. We were so warmly welcomed and given a thorough tour and everything was exactly as expected. Communication was excellent and they checked in just enough to see that we had no questions with out being nosy. There was even a welcome basket with local goodies. We will definatly stay again if they will have us and take advantage of the lake for swimming next time!.

Published Jun 2, 2019

Great hidden gem that has left us with such a lasting impression!

This Carriage House was all that we could ask for over a much needed blissful Thanksgiving getaway for our little family (myself, hubby and 2+year old son). The property is tucked away in a quiet area surrounded by the peaceful sounds of nature…. And only 10 mins from town. Dorothy and Bill were beyond welcoming. Such a special couple that have left an imprint on my heart. They invited us over to enjoy their fire pit one evening and the hours rolled by with story sharing and laughter. Such a great time!

The Carriage House was quiet and cozy for us 3 – our son loved the place – and we felt immediately at home. The hot tub and outdoor shower was also top notch. The grounds were beautifully kept. This would be such a great place to come back to over the Summer (so we could enjoy their lake) but also would be great during the Winter as well. This getaway was all we needed to convince us that we would love to move to Courtenay. And we definitely plan on dropping by to visit Dorothy and Bill in the future.

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful Carriage House. It was an experience for the books! ๐Ÿ’“

Lisa, Justin and Jack ๐Ÿ‘ช

Published Oct 11, 2018

Owner’s Response:Thank you for this lovely and heartfelt review. It was SUCH a pleasure to have your beautiful little family stay with us and we so enjoyed getting to know you better! Yes, the blazing fire and the visit was a highlight for us as well. We truly hope that you will be able to move to the Comox Valley. We need vibrant young people like yourselves and, as you discovered, it is a wonderful place to live, work and raise a family. Please keep in touch….we hope to see you again…..you warmed our hearts too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lovely location, quiet grounds

5/5Stayed Sep 2018Richard V.

Well kept rental in a beautiful park like setting. Unless you absolutely need to be by the ocean, this is the best place to stay we’ve found in mid Vancouver Island. The hosts were exceptional helpful to us. We don’t get the Vancouver Island often but this will definitely be our place to stay next time we get there.

Published Sep 30, 2018

We loved our Anniversary getaway at Hidden Springs

5/5Stayed Aug 2018Kim P.Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

This little gem of a cottage is a 5* in its quality, cleanliness, amenities and comfort. We came to Hidden Springs for our first time in August 2018. Dorothy & Bill were so friendly, warm & welcoming during our tour of the property. The cottage is on the 2nd floor, bright, spacious and super clean. It had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. A very comfortable bed, full kitchen & beautiful furnishings & deck comforts. There is a lovely hot tub a few steps from the cottage. We didn’t end up using it, but it looked very relaxing. We were beyond impressed with this little gem, will highly recommend to our friends & family and definitely will be back!

Published Sep 5, 2018

Owner’s Response:

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us at Hidden Springs…..and very lovely to see that both of you could have a very enjoyable 18th anniversary with lots of downtime after a very busy summer. Thanks for the lovely review and yes! We would love to have you back anytime!

A very special place… a piece of heaven

5/5Stayed Aug 2018John G.

If you’re looking for an “accommodation”, there are many out there to choose from, and most are good. But if you are seeking an “experience”, this is it, and this is what we enjoyed at Hidden Springs. Hosts Dorothy and Bill really go out of their way to not only include everything in the suite you could possibly want or need, but to truly ensure your stay is memorable, relaxing and special. The details abound, and you can tell they have enjoyed building Hidden Springs Retreat into a real oasis for their guests. Some of the ‘details’ we enjoyed the most were: cut flowers (from their own garden) in the suite; thoughtful welcome basket filled with local goodies; a beautiful, covered deck with twinkly lights; comfy robes; soaker tub; fully (and I mean FULLY) stocked kitchen, should you choose to cook for yourselves; fireplaces in master suite and sitting room, and so much more. Our hosts were quick to respond to any inquiries we had, but also respected our privacy. Getting to know them better, over a glass of wine on our last night, was one of the highlights of our visit. This is a special place, that will take you away from your hectic life back home – just what we all need.

Published Aug 28, 2018

Owner’s Response:

Oh my gosh! Thank you so much for this “over the top” amazing review. We are so appreciative of the wonderful comments but also that you made the effort and took the time to write what you did. It was an absolute joy to host the two of you and we agree, the icing on the cake was our glass of wine with you!

Since you left, fall has hit and the Virginia Creeper on the barn is starting to turn red. The grand girls “cabin” is taking shape (we’ll send a pic when it is finished.) Thanks for your appreciation of our hard work and for our passion for making Hidden Springs a place of tranquility and peace for many to appreciate.

A peaceful and restorative getaway

5/5Stayed Jul 2018Misty K.Brentwood Bay, BC

If there was a detail that hadn’t been tended to in Bill and Dorothy’s beautifully appointed carriage house, we certainly couldn’t find it. Everything one could ever need was provided, including some things we never would have thought of! We enjoyed quiet mornings on the deck in the outdoor room before heading out to explore the Comox Valley, and came home to lounge on the dock and swim in the little lake at day’s end. Bill and Dorothy were gracious hosts and on hand for whatever we needed.

If peace, quiet and rest in a first class setting are what you’re seeking, then look no further than Hidden Springs Retreat.

Published Aug 4, 2018

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much….we are overwhelmed with your kind words and this incredible review. Guests like you are truly the reason we so love sharing Hidden Springs. We are so happy that it was restorative and just what you needed…thatโ€™s what Hidden Springs is all about.

Love and best wishes…we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gorgeous and well-kept guesthouse

5/5Stayed Jul 2018Ben R.

his was the perfect rental-by-owner experience. Hidden Springs is a beautiful, secluded property and a huge amount of care has been poured into its construction and maintenance. The garden and pond are dreamlike and the guest house is clean, modern and very comfortable. We loved spending time on the shady private deck when the 30+ days got too hot.

Dorothy and Bill were warm and pleasant and easy to communicate with. They gave us all the privacy we wanted, but when they invited us to share some wine and conversation in the garden on our final night, we were more than happy to accept. Their two sweet dogs were a bonus.

A wonderful home base from which to explore the Comox Valley!

Published Jul 30, 2018

Owner’s Response:

What an incredible review…thank you soooo much! You were an absolute delight to host… We so enjoyed getting to know you better, you give us hope for a world that desperately needs more lovely young people like you.

We wish you all the best and truly hope that we will see you again! ๐Ÿ™‚